DON’T FIX WHAT ISN’T BROKEN

19 May

image

So I’am shouting from the roof tops that, I LOVE MY HAIR STRAIGHT!!!! Yes I love my flat iron! I love putting heat on my hair! (well not too much).

I have been beating myself up for almost a year now for putting heat on my hair. I decided to go back to natural June of last year. My last relaxer being febuary 2012.  I was looking for natural relaxers and came upon the whole natural hair bloggers and youtubers. These ladies with gorgeous long curls using no to very little heat. Hey I want curls and long hair too! Why not? Let me try.

My hair had be growing beautfully after the birth of my second son and figured that no relaxers and no heat would have it growing like weeds 😀

My cousin/best friend and I decided No More Relaxers. I have to say we have not had a relaxer in over a year! Oh yea! Of course we had our ups and downs. Thinking about running to the store for that box of hair straightener (more me).

Here is what I have read when I began my journey.

No relaxers

No heat

Less time on hair

Less money on products

P lease! Less time on your hair? Yeah right! I send soooo much more time on my hair then before. My oldest son even asked “mom why are you spending so much time in the bathroom on your hair?”.  I would spend like an hour or two on my hair before and be good to go. Now it’s like a day and a half! This is not working for me.

Products less money…Ha! More and more money! I was already using coconut oil, that wasn’t a problem. You got the special shampoos, conditioners, butters. Which are pretty expensive. I love all natural products but when comes to money that I don’t have I try to find a happy medium.

No heat! That I tried. My hair likes heat. I like heat on it. I didn’t have a problem using it before. I tried stretching it with bands, tension with in direct heat, roller sets. My husband told me if I buy another kind of roller he is giving them away lol…he still brought me more. To be honest I’m tired of them too. 

All these things work for some ladies out there and I’m not knocking them. For me it is not working for my hair or my lifestyle. I will be taking better care of my hair and paying more attention to what it needs. I feel like me and I feel awesome when my hair is straight.  I’m not going back to relaxers but I will be using my hair dryer and flat iron and won’t care what anyone thinks or has to say. It’s my hair! Don’t fix what isn’t broken. I love all the women who rock their curls, relaxers and flat irons. Do you and what works for you!

Happy Hair : )

4 Responses to “DON’T FIX WHAT ISN’T BROKEN”

  1. Snow May 19, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Do What You Do… being natural is not about abiding all these rules people are making up it’s about being you the way you want to be. Natural hair is not chemically altered… heat is not a chemical so your good. Flat iron away if you want just protect your hair.

    • neaavan May 25, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

      Yes, I agree! Sometimes people fall into the hype and rules of things unknown to them. Somethings may work and some may not…its a learning process. Just gotta figure out what works for you.

      • Snow May 27, 2013 at 12:48 am #

        Exactly! I wish everyone can come to that realization.

    • neaavan May 25, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

